Iggy’s first fish and chips. Well, sort of….

I think it’s safe to say that fish and chips are New Zealand’s national food, followed closely behind by mince and cheese pies, marmite and pineapple lumps.  Ahhh yes, New Zealand’s artery clogging culinary offerings hold a special place close to my heart.

The weather has been fantastic lately, so after a long day we decided to take a drive and enjoy some fish and chips on the beach.  It just so happened that half the country was thinking about the same thing:

This is me waiting at the end of the line.

This is me waving goodbye to everyone, fish and chips in one hand, t sauce in the other.

Over here, they don’t call ketchup, ketchup, it’s more commonly referred to as tomato sauce or t sauce.  You’d be appalled at the number of food groups the poor sauce is squeezed on, dipped into and licked off of.

Iggy my natural baby

This photo was taken before I wrestled the t sauce out of Iggy's hands.

We couldn’t have picked a better night for fish and chips on the beach:

Iggy my natural baby

The view from our spot

Before I even had a chance to get Iggy out of his buggy, Fran had already sat down and was ripping into the tomato sauce:

This one doesn't muck around...

And then it was time to rip into it:

I wonder how many yoga classes it takes to burn this off?

I bought along a personal sized bottle of champers to enjoy with my fish and chips, which Fran proceeded to tell me tasted like Bonny Doon.  Whatever that is?

I know, I know, so classy, right?

Poor Igg was stuck with his apricot, but he seemed pretty stoked on it:

my natural baby iggy

Who needs fish and chips when you can suck the life out of an apricot?

And before we knew it, it was time to pack up and go:

my natural baby iggy

The apricot was still going strong....

There’s nothing better than f’ n c’s on the beach, even if my triglycerides have increased and I’m on the fast track to a coronary in 20 years time.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Looks like a fabulous way to enjoy fish & chips!

    Reply

  2. Posted by Granny on March 2, 2010 at 8:09 pm

    Looks like you guys had a nice day…..

    Reply

Leave a Reply

