Observations from the Mama of a teething 5 month old.

It’s official, Iggy has started teething.  Six weeks ago we were sure his pearly whites had started their descent from the gum line, but it was either a false alarm or they decided to scamper back to the safety of their home and plan a better orchestrated attack.  Well they’re back, ruthless and taking no prisoners.

The first sign was the drooling:

Simultaneous drooling while sleeping. He must get that from my side of the family.

Then he started poking his tongue out his mouth 90% of the time he was awake:

The red cheeks are a dead giveaway that bubs is teething.

Same tongue, different day

Then came the thumb sucking:

Little does he know his Mom sucked her thumb until she was at least 8 years old.

So we decided to give him a rusk to chew on:

Almost......

And....Touchdown!

For those of you not fluent in babyspeak, a rusk is defined as:

I couldn't have said it better myself.

Apparently this teething thing can last until bubs is 3 years old, so we’ve got a LONG way to go.  Until then, it looks as though we better arm ourselves with an arsenal of rusks, paracetamol, chew toys, drool bibs and ear plugs.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Lauren on December 1, 2009 at 6:19 pm

    Hi! It’s “laurenbug” from the bump. I saw you’d asked some questions about the wool diaper covers the other day, and figured this would be the best way to “track you down”. 🙂
    The doublers that are sewn into some of ThreeHappyTrees shorties are not removeable. They’re just an extra layer of protection. I usually put W in a prefold with a cotton or hemp doubler, snappied, then the shorties for overnight. If I have him in wool during the day, I use his shorties that don’t have a doubler, and just a prefold, since I change him more often.
    I’ve bought some stuff from http://www.greenmountaindiapers.com, but not their wool. Looks like they carry a few different brands (more expensive than on etsy though!). There are quite a few sellers on etsy, but I only have experience with THT’s woolies.
    Let me know if you have any other questions, as I said, I was really intimidated at first, but it isn’t hard at all! And I’m no expert 🙂
    I’m glad I looked at your blog, too…I’m interested to follow your CD musings!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

