Yeast, and I’m not talking bread.

This week has been tough!  Since last weekend, Iggy has been unsettled, grumpy and a little monster.  For me, one of the hardest things about being a Mom is trying to figure out what the problem is when your baby is shrieking, kicking and screaming bloody murder.  

Not stoked.  He's about to start winding up for a loud screaming session.

Not stoked. He's about to start winding up for a loud screaming session.

I was eager to explain our situation to the midwife and get her take on it.  Had we bitten of more than we could chew with this whole parenthood thing?  Were the next 17+ years of our lives going to be consumed with no sleep, loud noises in the middle of the night and endless loads of laundry?  I needed some answers, fast.

Michelle’s visit on Wednesday couldn’t come fast enough and I was counting down the days.  After asking the typical questions, she caught a glimpse of Iggy’s mouth (mid scream) and diagnosed an oral yeast infection.  GROSS!  I didn’t even know such a condition existed above the shoulders. 

This is where it all began.

This is where it all began.

She wrote out a prescription for Iggy (to be taken orally) and then one for me, explaining that I would have to rub ointment on my nipples to kill the infection. 

The magic lotion and potion that will cure our illness.

The magic lotion and potion that will cure our illness.

Wait, so you’re telling me I have a yeast infection on my nipples?  Who knew such an ailment even existed?  Certainly not me.  Even the words “yeast infection” make me want to gag so thinking about having one on my nipples was beyond belief, but apparently it’s really common amongst new Moms and their babies.  Phewf.

After two days of medicated drops and lotions, I’m happy to report that we’re all in a better place with significantly less yeast than this time last week. 

The men in my life - man, baby and beast.

The men in my life - husband, baby and beast.

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by silenceandnoise on August 14, 2009 at 2:09 pm

    Just another one of those things no one tells (warns) you about when you are pregnant. I got the same infection during my first week with baby. Not fun times. I am glad you are both better.

    Reply

  2. nice post, worth reading

    Reply

Leave a Reply

