The BIG snip…..

Iggy was rudely reintroduced to the medical world on Friday when he was given the big snip, A.K.A circumcision.

After searching the internet for a local clinic to perform the surgery, I stumbled upon Hillsborough Medical Centre that specializes in “Providing high quality, comprehensive healthcare”.  Their website informs me that circumcision of infant boys has been practiced for centuries for religious and cultural reasons, and reassures me that the procedure is relatively quick with minimal discomfort.  Feeling satisfied about our decision I make an appointment for noon on Friday the 24th and forget about it.

We arrive at the clinic with baby in tow, read about the procedure, pay for the surgery and wait for the doctor.  Unaware of what’s to come, Iggy is blissfully asleep in his carseat.

If only he knew what was instore for him.....

If only he knew what was instore for him.....

About 20 minutes later we’re ushered into a room and the surgery begins.  A local anaesthetic is inserted in 4 different locations while Iggy is screaming at the top of his lungs.  The nurse attempts to explain that he’s shrieking because he doesn’t like his legs being held down, but I’m not buying it.

This has GOT to hurt.

This has GOT to hurt.

Once the area is numb the doctor starts pulling, prodding, cutting, slicing and dissecting the area.  I’ll spare you the gory details since the photos speak for themselves.

Vertical ween snip.

Vertical ween snip.

Removing the excess ween skin.

Removing the excess ween skin.

Removed flap of skin.

Removed flap of skin.

Once he’s chopped off the excess real estate, the doctor fits a plastic ring and secures it with a tie, eliminating the need for stitches and dressings.  The Plastibell ring is supposed to fall off within three to five days after the procedure.  Here’s a diagram of how the apparatus is attached:

The procedure step by step.

The procedure step by step.

In retrospect, the circumcision looked like a pretty gnarly procedure to go through and I’m not sure I would recommend it to other new parents (unless religious and cultural beliefs dictated otherwise).  Having a tight plastic ring on your ween CAN’T be comfortable, and Iggy was definitely cranky and grizzly since he had it done a few days ago.  Until yesterday this had become his permanent facial expression:

Bummed out.

Bummed out.

After a few days of shrieking we decided it was time for the doctor to have a look.  I drove him to the clinic and waited for Dr Russell to come in and check it out.  I was hoping his stomach gurgles would subside while the doctor inspected, so definitely wasn’t expecting the fountain of pee that he let rip once the diaper was taken off.  With almost predetermined precision, Iggy managed to direct his flow so that it hit the doctor’s glasses, cheek, mouth, shirt and pants.  Torn between laughing hysterically and crawling under the exam table, I apologized profusely while the doctor wiped his face and reassured me that baby urine is very sterile and clean.  He then excited the room and moved on to his next patient.  I quickly wiped a stream of pee off the wall before putting Iggy is his carseat and running out of the clinic.

I can happily report that Iggy is much happier now that a plastic ring is not cutting off the flow to his member:

Aaahhhh, happy baby.

Aaahhhh, happy baby.

6 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Mason Hell-Cat on August 7, 2009 at 12:40 am

    Hope these photos don’t make an appearance at IGGY’S 21st – that’d hurt more!!

    Reply

  2. Oh, wow.

    Um. Never, ever seen photos of this before. Now I *am* curious to read more here.

    I am wondering *why* the little guy had to have the big snip? But I want to see if I can find out by reading a bit deeper…

    Reply

    • Posted by mynaturalbaby on August 24, 2009 at 9:06 pm

      Hi Andy,
      Hope it wasn’t TMI for you! People never warn of the procedure and subsequent baby grizzliness, so I figured I would shed a little light on the subject. It’s definitely a controversial topic of conversation!

      Reply

  3. I see that you answered my comment, Lucy (I am Andy), but I cannot for the life of me find my comment!

    I find it to be incredibly interesting that you post it (and although I squirm for the little man, I do find it very informative and thank you for “filling this whole in my knowledge”). I have two sons, neither of which are circumcized. I do know that it seems to be common practice in America to snip the little guys, but I wonder *why*?

    Do you do this for religious purposes? Or is it cultural?

    Reply

    • Posted by mynaturalbaby on September 16, 2009 at 12:52 am

      Hi Andy,
      I’m not sure why it’s common practice in America, but my husband wanted to get it done for the little man and that’s where he’s from. It was definitely tough to watch though 😦
      That being said, at nine weeks he’s cooing, smiling and a bright little man. At this age they can’t remember much so I’m thankful for that!

      Reply

  4. Posted by mynaturalbaby on September 16, 2009 at 12:53 am

    Thanks for wasting space on my blog. Much appreciated.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

