Finally, the hospital bag….. Part 1

We figured we only have a couple of free weekends (at best) before our little guy gets here, so we caught up on a few house projects and hung out with a few people we hadn’t seen in ages.  Needless to say, my hospital bag didn’t get packed (despite the best of intentions on Friday).

So, today I started slapping things together according to the list we received from the midwife that featured in my last post.  Here are some of the vital ingredients:

This bag has been on a number of domestic and international jetsetting missions.  Needless to say, we won’t be doing any of that for A LONG time.

I can kiss international travel goodbye for the next few months.

I can kiss international travel goodbye for the next few months.

According to the list, your feet can get quite cold during labor.  I hunted high and low for my snowboarding socks, but couldn’t find them anywhere.  These will have to do:

I'm seriously doubting my fatso ankles are going to squeeze into these.

I'm seriously doubting my fatso ankles are going to squeeze into these.

The list also suggests that a wheat bag is good for back pain, so I threw mine in there:

This thing measures about 4" long x 2" wide. Is it seriously going to make any kind of dent when it comes to labor pains?

This thing measures about 4" long x 2" wide. Is it seriously going to make any kind of dent when it comes to labor pains?

Now for the fun stuff – the baby gear!  We decided against putting the little guy in this onesie:

Perhaps not the most practical onesie for the drive home.

Bound to raise an eyebrow or two in the maternity ward.

In favor of a more traditional option:

A little more tame than the previous outfit.

A little more of a safe option.

With the outfit chosen, I moved on to trying to find the Cocooi swaddle to wrap our little man in. It seems Lola is almost as big of a Merino Kids fan as me:

dsf

Lola agrees, the merino is super soft, suggly and perfect for a newborn!  

Still wrestling the swaddle from Lola, so stayed tuned for Part 2….

Leave a Reply

